Elementary STEAM Leaders

About the project:

A cohort of approximately 22 educators will serve as Elementary STEAM Leaders over the next school year. They will focus on professional development, networking, lesson planning, and school-based leadership during the 2020-21 school year.

Teachers will attend a 3-day virtual institute on August 11th-13th, plus 3-4 PLCs throughout the year. All sessions will be designed to fit with the constantly evolving challenges of distance learning and needs of the participating educators. Each STEAM Leader will receive a $1200 stipend plus a $150 supply budget for their lessons.


Counties eligible: Hood River, Wasco, Sherman, Wheeler, and Gilliam.


The project will be co-led by Susan McCourt and Courtney Middleton, two experienced Columbia Gorge elementary educators with a passion for STEM. It is a collaboration with Greater Oregon STEM (Eastern OR) and Umpqua Valley STEAM Hub (Southern OR).

2020-21 STEAM Leaders cohort:

Cascade Locks Elementary - Ms. Haifley

Chenowith Elementary - Mr. Anthony, Ms. Dye, Ms. Felt, Ms. Ford, Ms. Peters, & Ms. McCourt

Colonel Wright Elementary - Ms. Heigert & Ms. Middleton

Dry Hollow Elementary - Mr. Mitchell, Ms. Bickle, & Ms. Stanton

Fossil Elementary - Ms. Whitbeck

May Street Elementary - Mr. Dalbey

Mosier Community School - Mr. Campbell & Ms. Malitz

Mid Valley Elementary - Ms. Behrman & Ms. Irusta

Parkdale Elementary - Ms. Findeisen

Sherman County School - Ms. Cranston, Ms. Huffman, & Ms. Macnab

Westside Elementary - Ms. Rappleyea

Columbia Gorge



Sign up for our newsletter!

Columbia Gorge Education Service District (CGESD)

400 E Scenic Dr #207

The Dalles, OR 97058

  • Facebook Social Icon